The 7 Chakras

The 7 Chakras are the energy centers in our body through which energy flows. The word ‘Chakra’ is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘Wheel’. Literally translated from the Hindi it means ‘Wheel of Spinning Energy’. A chakra is like a whirling, vortex-like, powerhouse of energy. There are 7 major Chakra Centers and many more minor ones. Here we’ll just be talking about the 7 major chakra centers.

ROOT

Base/Root Chakra- SURVIVAL

Affirmation:

I have enough of everything
I have belief in myself
I have a beautiful spirit filled with Divine love & light
I have motivation to achieve my desires.

Chakra One: Muladhara- Physical identity, oriented to self-preservation Located at the base of the spine, this chakra forms our foundation. It represents the element earth, and is therefore related to our survival instincts, and to our sense of grounding and connection to our bodies and the physical plane. Ideally this chakra brings us health, prosperity, security, and dynamic presence. –

Position: perineum area (between scrotum and anus – for men – and vagina and anus – for women)
Element: earth
Elemental Connection– earth
Sentence: I have
Color: red
Subtle body: ethereal
Body: spine, kidneys, legs, feet, rectum, immune system
Issues: fear, lack of motivation, insecurity, uncertainty, lack of vital energy

When activated: strength, power, eagerness for well-being and for wealth, energy, attractiveness. When over-activated: selfishness, cruelty, violence, greed.

SACRAL

Sacral Chakra- SEXUALITY

Affirmation:

I feel completely in touch with myself
I feel worthy of love
I feel creative & charismatic
I feel free to be myself

Chakra Two: Svadhisthana- Emotional identity, oriented to self-gratification The second chakra, located in the abdomen, lower back, and sexual organs, is related to the element water, and to emotions and sexuality. It connects us to others through feeling, desire, sensation, and movement. Ideally this chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and the ability to accept change. 

Position: two inches below the navel, one inch inside (push with your fingertip – the place where it hurts is the center of the chakra)
Element: water
Elemental Connection– Water
Sentence: I want, I feel
Color: orange
Subtle body: emotional
Organs: sexual organs, bladder, kidney, adrenal glands, lower intestines
Issues: if too active – lust for money and power, lack of self-control, low morality; if blocked – low libido, lack of wish to live, lack of sexy-ness, urinary problems.
When activated: capacity on enjoying living, attractiveness, increased libido, positive emotions, and pleasure.
SOLAR PLEXUS

​Solar Plexus Chakra- POWER

Affirmation:

I can do anything I want to
I can achieve my goals
I can live in peace & balance
I can get tasks done easily

Chakra Three: Manipura- Ego identity, oriented to self-definition This chakra is known as the power chakra, located in the solar plexus. It rules our personal power, will, and autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When healthy, this chakra brings us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity, and non-dominating power.

Position: two inches below the sternum (push with your fingertip – the place where it hurts is the center of the chakra)
Element: fire
Elemental Connection– fire
Sentence: I can
Color: yellow
Subtle body: mental
Organs: stomach, pancreas, liver, spleen, gallbladder
Issues: ulcer, pancreatitis, diabetes, hepatitis, cirrhosis, colon diseases, biliary dyskinesia, fat deposit on the abdomen, arthritis; low self-esteem, indecision, sensitivity to criticism.

When activated: the whole metabolism works properly and hence the entire body (that is properly fed); internal energy, decisiveness, diligence, joy of having things done well, leadership qualities.
HEART

Heart Chakra Position- LOVE

Affirmation:

I love myself & all things
I love helping others
I love everyone for who they are
I love that everything & everyone is perfect for me at this time

Chakra Four: Anahata- Social identity, oriented to self-acceptance This chakra is called the heart chakra and is the middle chakra in a system of seven. It is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity. A healthy fourth chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace and centeredness.

Element: air
Elemental Connection– air
Sentence: I love
Color: green
Subtle body: astral
Organs: heart, lungs, circulatory system, respiratory system, thymus
Issues: lung, shoulder and heart problems; low energy feelings like hatred, envy, fear, jealousy

When activated: it gives a deep and constant feeling of understanding, forgiving and loving the others
THROAT

Throat Chakra- COMMUNICATION

Affirmation:

I speak clearly & with ease
I speak Divine wisdom & truth
I speak creatively
I speak with vivid detail to create pictures

Chakra Five: Vishuddha- Ether Sound, Creative identity, oriented to self-expression This is the chakra located in the throat and is thus related to communication and creativity. Here we experience the world symbolically through vibration, such as the vibration of sound representing language.

Position
: at the base of your throat, inside between the clavicles

Element: ether
Elemental Connection– Akasha (Ether/Spirit)
Sentence: I speak
Color: clear blue
Subtle body: causal
Organs: thyroid gland, larynx, esophagus, vocal cords, lower jaw
Issues: hyper/ hypo thyroid function, frequent laryngitis or pharyngitis (sore throat)
When activated: lets you fully express not only your feelings, but also your messages in a clear, concise and precise way, letting no doubt about what you want to express. Messages from beyond the known world will be more accessible.
BROW

Brow Chakra (3rd Eye)-  INTUITION

Affirmation:

I see clearly
I see all things with love & light
I see the beauty in everything that surrounds me
I see the energy that connects all things

Chakra Six: Ajna- Mind Light, Archetypal identity, oriented to self-reflection This chakra is known as the brow chakra or third eye center. It is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. As such it opens our psychic faculties and our understanding of archetypal levels. When healthy it allows us to see clearly, in effect, letting us “see the big picture.”

Position: right between the eyebrows, slightly up
Element: light
Elemental Connection– Awareness
Sentence: I see
Color: indigo
Subtle body: celestial
Organs: face, nose, eyes, sinus, cerebellum, pituitary gland
Issues: acne, sinusitis, migraines, slow thinking, lack of concentration and clarity, wandering thoughts, not being inspired.

When activated: it opens the whole mind to new ideas, it rejuvenates the way you think, lets you intuitively know others. When over-activated, it might bring auditory or visual hallucinations, with symptoms of schizophrenia or paranoia.
CROWN

Crown Chakra- SPIRITUALITY

Affirmation:

I know I’m connected to all things
I know I am one with the Creator
I know my life path
I know I am surrounded by Universal Love & Light

Chakra Seven: Sahasrara- Spirit Thought, Universal identity, oriented to self-knowledge This is the crown chakra that relates to consciousness as pure awareness. It is our connection to the greater world beyond, to a timeless, spaceless place of all-knowing. When developed, this chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, and bliss.

Position: the fontanel (the last portion of the skull that solidified when several months old)
Element: thought
Elemental Connection– Divinity
Sentence: I know
Color: violet or white
Subtle body: karmic
Organs: brain, cerebellum, skull, pineal gland
Issues: headaches, brain tumors, poor blood flow, hair loss, poor health, permanent

bad moods, a sense of not belonging to this world – alienation, loneliness.

When activated: general good health (if the other chakras are also activated), higher understanding of your being and personal purpose, wisdom, clarity, superiority.

One thought on “The 7 Chakras

Leave a Reply

