Elemental Altar for Air

In addition to my main working altar (I’ll talk about this in a later blog), I also like to have Elemental Altars. I’ve had many incarnations over the years. Sometimes I have all of the Elements in one place and other times I have a separate altar for each Element.

Today I’m going to briefly explain what I put on my Elemental Altar for Air.

I place my Air Altar in the East. This is the place of the rising sun and the intellect.

The first thing I put on my Elemental Altars is the appropriately colored candle. For me, that means a yellow candle. The next things that go on the altar are any feathers I may have. I collect them throughout the year.

Because of this altar’s relationship with the intellect, knowledge and learning, my Book of Shadows also goes here.

After that I add crystals, herbs and any tools that I may need.

Here’s a list of crystals that correspond with the Element of Air- Amethyst, Aventurine, Carnelian, Citrine, Fluorite, Lapis lazuli, Sapphire and Topaz.

There are many herbs you can use: Cedar, Cloves, Coffee, Dandelion, Fragrant flowers, Frankincense, Lavender, Lemon, Mint, Mugwort, Rosemary, Sage, Sandalwood and any trees.

The tools that I usually have either on the altar itself, or at least nearby, are: brooms, feather fans, incense holders, a censer, a pen, a singing bowl, my staff, and sometimes a few tarot cards- Kings, Wands and The Fool. In addition to that you can add instruments such as a flute. Really, all wind instruments are appropriate.

When I can, and if I have space, I like to also add statuary of Deities, animals or even Elemental beings. Here are some you can choose from: Aditi, Aradia, Arianrhod, Athena, Cardea, Danu, Isis, Kwan Yin, Nike, Nuit, Urania, Maiden Goddesses, Angels, Enlil, Hermes, Khephera, Mercury, Quetzacoatl, Shu, Taliesin, Thoth, Vayu, Zeus, Gryphons, Pegasus, Sylphs, zephyrs, faeries and all flying insects and birds.

Idon’t always have room for all of this or time to set it all up. When that’s the case I just pop my Air Elemental Doll in place and do my work.

That’s pretty much it. Of course, you aren’t limited to these ideas. Whatever smacks of Air for you can also be included.

Blessings to you all!

2 thoughts on “Elemental Altar for Air

Leave a Reply

