Magical Gardening

When most people think about gardening, they probably imagine tomato plants or marigolds. They think about mulch and weeds. When I think about gardening, I imagine what it is I can plant that will not only nourish my body, buy my mind and soul as well.

Magical gardening is a time honored tradition for me. It’s a tradition I started 25 years ago when I got married the first time around and had my own first home. I began with daffodils because they were then and remain now, my favorite flower of all time. Growing up in Baltimore City was not always fun for me. I do not like cities at all. It’s saving grace was the fact that every Spring the center median of the main road near my home, Loch Raven Blvd., would start blooming daffodils. A sea of daffodils in an otherwise dreary, filthy neighborhood really kept me going. It was sunshine on a stick.

I had no idea then that plants had their own magical properties. It didn’t even occur to me until years after I started on my pagan path that I should even look up the magical properties of those beautiful yellow blooms. They were already magical to me and that’s all I cared about, but when I did finally look up their properties, what I found did not surprise me at all.

Daffodils are protective and purifying. They keep negativity away from the home. They’re also good for luck and love, but the properties that interested me most were those of protection and purification. I’ve never lived in a home without growing daffodils. Once I moved out of my childhood house, I’ve never one, not ever, lived without them. In fact, when my husband and I bought the house we live in now I planted a few daffodil bulbs for the following Spring, just to get me started. I was pleasantly surprised to find out the following March and April that there were already about 200 daffodil bulbs planted here by the previous owner!

Since then I’ve been filling the yard with many more flowers as well as veggies, fruits and herbs. Each has its purpose, whether it’s eye candy (food for the heart), magical (food for the mind and soul) or nutritional (food for the body), I make sure that my gardens feed me in every way they should.

Here is a list of plants to use when honoring specific deities.

  • Apple- Aphrodite, Hera, Odin, Zeus
  • Basil- Vishnu
  • Bay- Apollo, Eros
  • Catnip- Bast
  • Corn- Demeter, Mithra
  • Daisy- Freya, Thor
  • Dandelion- Hecate
  • Fennel- Prometheus
  • Garlic- Hecate
  • Hawthorn- Flora
  • Heather- Isis
  • Iris- Isis, Hera
  • Lavender- Hecate
  • Lily- Kwan, Yin, Juno
  • Marjoram- Aphrodite, Venus
  • Mint- Pluto
  • Mustard- Mars
  • Parsley- Persephone
  • Pine- Cybele, Pan, Poseidon
  • Primrose- Freya
  • Rose- Venus, Aphrodite, Bacchus, Eros, Isis
  • Sage- Zeus
  • Sunflower- Apollo, Demeter
  • Violet- Io, Zeus
  • Willow- Ceres, Hera

Below is a list of plant properties when considering planting in your garden this year.

African Violet : Spirituality, Protection
Aloe : Protection, Luck
Apple : Love, Healing, Garden Magic, Immortality
Bachelor’s Buttons : Love
Basil : Love, Exorcism, Wealth, Flying, Protection
Birch : Protection, Exorcism, Purification and Cleansing
Bleeding Heart : Love
Blueberry : Protection
Cabbage : Luck
Cactus : Protection, Chastity
Carrot : Fertility, Lust
Cedar : Healing, Purification, Money, Protection
Clover : Protection, Money, Love, Fidelity, Exorcism, Success, Luck
Crocus : Love, Visions
Dogwood : Wishes, Protection
Fennel : Protection, Healing, Purification
Fern : Rain Making, Protection, Luck, Riches, Eternal Youth, Health, Exorcism
Foxglove : Protection
Gardenia : Love, Peace, Healing, Spirituality
Garlic : Protection, Healing, Exorcism, Lust, Anti-Theft
Grape : Fertility, Garden Magic, Mental Powers, Money
Grass : Psychic Powers, Protection
Ground Ivy : Divination
Holly : Protection, Anti-Lightning, Luck, Dream Magic, Balance
Hyacinth : Love, Protection, Happiness
Hydrangea : Hex Breaking
Iris : Purification, Wisdom
Juniper : Protection, Anti-Theft, Love, Exorcism, Health
Lavender : Love, Protection, Sleep, Chastity, Longevity, Purification, Happiness, Peace
Lilac : Exorcism, Protection, Beauty
Lily : Protection, Breaking Love spells
Lily of the Valley : Mental Powers, Happiness
Maple : Love, Longevity, Money
Marigold : Protection, Prophetic Dreams, Business and Legal Matters, Psychic Powers
Mint : Money, Love, Luck, Healing, Exorcism, Travel, Protection
Norfolk Island Pine : Protection, anti-hunger
Oak : Protection, Health, Money, Healing, Potency, Fertility, Luck
Onion : Protection, Exorcism, Healing, Money, Prophetic Dreams, Lust
Orange : Love, Divination, Luck, Money
Orchid : Love
Pansy : Love, Rain Magic, Love, Divination
Parsley : Love, Protection, Purification
Peony : Protection, Exorcism
Pepper : Protection, Exorcism
Peppermint : Purification, Sleep, Love, Healing, Psychic Powers
Pine : Healing, Fertility, Protection, Exorcism, Money
Plantain : Healing, Protection, Strength, Snake Repelling
Primrose : Protection, Love
Purslane : Sleep, Love, Luck, Protection, Happiness
Raspberry : Protection, Love
Rose : Love, Psychic Powers, Healing, Love, Divination, Luck, Protection
Rosemary : Protection, Love, Lust, Mental Powers, Exorcism, Purification, Healing, Sleep, Youth
Sage : Immortality, Longevity, Wisdom, Protection, Wishes
Sunflower : Fertility, Wishes, Health, Wisdom
Thistle : Strength, Protection, Hex Breaking, Healing
Thistle, Holy : Purification, Hex Breaking
Thistle, Milk : Snake Enraging
Thyme : Health, Healing, Sleep, Psychic Powers, Love, Purification, Courage
Violet : Protection, Luck, Love, Lust, Wishes, Peace, Healing
Willow : Love, Divination, Protection, Healing
Yarrow : Courage, Love, Psychic Powers, Exorcism 

Finally, if you want some great tips and ideas when it comes to magical gardening, I suggest you take a look at the following books:

1- Garden Witchery: Magick from the Ground Up by Ellen Dugan 
2- Magical Gardens: Cultivating Soil & Spirit by Patricia Monaghan
3- Cottage Witchery: Natural Magick for Hearth and Home by Ellen Dugan 

The last book on the list isn’t really a gardening book exactly, so much as a guide to how you can use the things you grow to protect and nurture your home.

 

3 thoughts on “Magical Gardening

  1. I also have a garden in which every plant serves a purpose. Isn’t that what plants are for ? Usually the first thing I plant at a new house is a holly bush outside my front door. Love the list- I also find elder, comfrey and horseradish are very useful (probably native to uk) Xx

    Like

    1. Yes to the holly bush! I have one just outside my front door as well! I’ve had comfrey over the years here and there too. We’re in the process of moving and elder is on my list for planting whenever we get into a new house. Horseradish sounds wonderful too! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

