The Goddess & God Together

There is a saying in the Pagan community: All the Gods are One God. I believe that to be true, in a sense, and I’ll tell you why. It is believed in many religious traditions, Christian and non-Christian alike, that we were made in the Creator’s image. It is also believed that the Creator is all powerful, all knowing and all things. I look at the Divine Creator as a whole and also as the sum of many parts. I first break down Divinity into female- the Goddess, and male- the God. I do this because we all have a feminine and masculine side to us. From there, it’s a matter of personality. Warrior, Lover, Protector, Farmer, Artisan, Fortune Teller, the list goes on. They come in different shapes, sizes, ages, ethnicity, etc. Just like us, they have many sides to who they are.

We are multifaceted, like diamonds. In my lifetime I have been a granddaughter, daughter, niece, aunt, sister, mother, friend, enemy, wife, ex-wife and so much more. I am all of these things and I am also uniquely me. Just me; a singular entity from which come many other facets and names.

The Qur’an contains the ninety-nine Most Beautiful Names of Allah. Judaism refers to seventy-two Divine Names and the Mahabharata text, one of the two major Sanskrit epics of ancient India, contains a thousand names of Vishnu. The Goddess has been called the Lady of one thousand or ten thousand names. The word ‘God’ is used by countless religions and spiritual systems of belief across the planet to name their Supreme Being. God, Brigid, Vishnu, Yahweh, Jehovah, Kwan Yin, Allah, etc. are all just labels. I think of them as terms of endearment. I call my daughter Baby-girl. As I write this. She is 24 years old and I’m sure it annoys her to no end, but she’s been my Baby-girl since birth and will continue to be that until I draw my final breath in this life. It is, ultimately, just a term of endearment. It is what I call her as a show of my love, respect and affection. Unless, we’re in public, then I call her by her given name or suffer her wrath.

The names of Deity are much the same for me. If I am frightened for my life, it is Hecate I’d want by my side. When I am harvesting herbs, it is the guidance of Lugh I seek. When reading the tarot, I call upon Cerridwen to open my eyes to the universe. And for inspiration and the strength to make major changes in my life I pray to Brigid. I am ultimately calling on the one and only unnamed Creator of all that is, but the Divine One is so vast and unknowable that it is easier for me and many others to address one of the many aspects that make up the whole of the Creator.

This isn’t to say that the individual Gods and Goddesses are just a subset or less than the Supreme Spiritual Entity we pray to. On the contrary, I believe them on equal footing. As much as I believe Creator is a singular entity, I also believe that Creator branches out into many distinct and unique individual deities. This is what I believe, but there are a lot of people who don’t believe this. They believe that the Gods aren’t all one and that the Christian God has nothing to do with the Wiccan Deity or any other Deity for that matter. I say that’s perfectly fine. I understand and respect their point of view fully. We come together for the common goal of love, honor, understanding, respect, and becoming one with the world around us, but we all come to the Goddess in our own way at our own time. I think the important thing is that we walk the path at all.

In the end, we are all one. One with each other, one with the Creator, one with the universe. American astrophysicist named Neil deGrasse Tyson put it this way, “…not only do we exist in this universe; it is the universe itself that exists within us.” He said this when comparing the make-up of a human being to the make-up of the universe. We as humans have the same ratio of hydrogen, oxygen, carbon and nitrogen as does the universe. He also said, “…we’re all connected to each other biologically; to the earth- chemically; and to the rest of the universe- atomically.”

Or to quote Joni Mitchell, “We are stardust, we are golden, we are billion year old carbon, and we got to get ourselves back to the garden.”

Leave a Reply

